Beach Day

Arati Nair
2 min readMar 1, 2020
Photo by joyce huis on Unsplash

I stand alone on this barren beach,

Let salty breeze embrace and twine

The sorrows sown of another’s deeds

Done in love, born of passions wrong

On my frail frame that sways unscathed

Of the blows that haven’t missed a mark.

There’s turmoil within, I feel it now,

The sea’s fury, balm for our youthful lark.

I remember an age when hope still lived,

I have a memory of happiness built

On sodden planes my heart freely bared

Before eyes that brimmed with promises

Never meant to last, never to fulfill.

Yet a fantasy I wove, a fool to live

In an instant that stretched the realm of time,

In dreams that sang of future’s bliss.

Today I tire easily, feel week to blink

To a world void of your eyes, a wind bereft of the scent

I cherished so long, I prayed would go on

Forever for my being to be normal.

Alas, you moved away, legions apart

Where my feeble thoughts alone are permit

To be with you once again,

To fabricate a life never to last.

I should have known it was all a ploy,

A plan you planned for a sweeter goodbye

You embraced death in the shadow of rage

I willingly showered without a care,

Thinking the worst, fierce for my heart

That had taken blows from all around.

I cry a sea of regret, I curse the blindness

That froze my heart to your certain farewell.

The sun has settled down, the waves rumbling

In sync to the lulling anguish I feel

Amidst bouts of anger, for never knowing

How you played my fears for wear,

How you ensnared my senses strong,

I failed to see you disappear, failed to grasp you

To keep with me, to fight till the end,

To defeat the scythe that claimed you.

Maybe it’s all for good, maybe I will be cured

Of this pain, this disease

The addiction I can’t do without.

I crush the soaking sand beneath

With toes that aspire to cage

The remnants of path we once trod.

But look, they drain away, flowing back

To abyss to which I lost you too.

--

--

Arati Nair

Content writer, avid book lover, amateur poet and bizarrely imaginative commoner.